Skip to main content
Didit Raises $7.5M to Build the Infrastructure for Identity and Fraud
Didit
Back to blog
Blog · October 6, 2026

Nafath integration: a guide for businesses in 2026

How a business integrates Nafath, Saudi Arabia's national sign-in: what users see, what the official sources say you receive, the SAMA rule for remote onboarding, private access, unpublished costs and a document fallback.

By DiditUpdated
nafath-integration-cover.png

In short

A Nafath integration lets your platform sign people in with Saudi Arabia's unified national access system: the user types a national ID or Iqama number, then approves the request in the Nafath app. SDAIA's user guide documents that approval as picking a matching number and entering a PIN.[1] Private platforms are in scope, and the Saudi Data and AI Authority (SDAIA) runs the system.[1][2]

  • More than 23.5 million users and 530 connected platforms (November 2024).[2]
  • For remote account opening, the Saudi Central Bank requires the institutions it supervises to use biometric authentication "with a high level of verification or above".[3]
  • Fees, the attribute list and onboarding lead times are not published.

Last reviewed: 5 October 2026 · Not legal advice

Nafath integration means adding "Sign in with Nafath" to a website or app, so a person in Saudi Arabia proves who they are with the national system instead of a photo of a card. The official material is thin: everything below comes from four official sources, read on 5 and 6 October 2026, and where they are silent this guide says so.

What Nafath is

Nafath is Saudi Arabia's unified national access system, an electronic identification (eID) scheme: one sign-in that people use across government and private digital services.[2] SDAIA's user guide describes it as "a national platform that allows users to sign-on to various public and private sector platforms safely and securely by using unique electronic identifiers that are based on international standards".[1]

Nafath

Saudi Arabia's unified national access system

On request
CountrySaudi Arabia
OperatorSDAIA develops and operates it; it began as a joint effort of SDAIA and the Ministry of Interior[2]
LaunchedNot stated in the official sources reviewed (5 October 2026). It does not affect integration planning
UsersMore than 23.5 million users, more than 20 million active in the app (Saudi Press Agency, 28 November 2024)[2]
CredentialPer the user guide: the Nafath app with a six-digit PIN, or the ID number with the Absher password and a one-time code. The central bank circular refers to biometric authentication the guide does not show[1][3]
Level of assuranceNo level under eIDAS, the EU regulation on electronic identification and trust services: a Saudi scheme, not EU-notified. The central bank asks for "a high level of verification or above"[3]
Data returnedNo public attribute list. The sign-in is keyed to the National ID or Iqama number[1]
Legal basisFor financial institutions, Saudi Central Bank circular No. 44037856 of 26 November 2022, in force[3]
Didit statusOn request

Nafath is often confused with Absher. Absher's own site describes it as the Ministry of Interior's electronic platform, providing services to citizens, residents and visitors.[4] Nafath's password login uses the password of the person's Absher account, which the guide calls the "Digital Identity (Absher)".[1]

Adoption: users, operations and platforms

The most recent official figures we found come from the Saudi Press Agency, quoting the director of SDAIA's National Information Center on 28 November 2024.[2]

23.5M+Nafath users (November 2024)
20M+Active users of the Nafath app
3bn+Verification operations since inception
530+Connected government and private platforms

Saudi Press Agency, 28 November 2024.[2]

Note

Higher user counts for 2026 circulate in vendor guides. We could not trace them to an SDAIA publication. No official share of the adult population is published.

For how it compares with other state sign-ins, see national digital identity worldwide.

What the user sees

SDAIA's user guide documents two ways to log in: through the Nafath app, or with a username and password.[1] The screens below redraw the guide's app route, not the live app.

Your service

Sign in with Nafath

Enter your National ID or Iqama number.

Login

1In the guide, the user enters their ID number and presses Login.[1]

Your service

Your request number

47

Open the Nafath app to complete the login.

2The guide then shows a request number on the screen.[1]

Nafath app

Incoming request

A service is asking to sign you in.

Accept

3In the guide, the request shows in the app, to accept or reject.[1]

Nafath app

Pick the matching number

12 · 47 · 83

Choose the number your service is showing.

4The guide shows three numbers; the user selects the one that matches.[1]

Nafath app

Enter your PIN

The six-digit code you created in the app.

5Per the guide, the user enters the PIN and the app confirms the request was accepted.[1]

Guide-documented screens, subject to change. The numbers shown are illustrative.[1]

The guide describes one flow: the service shows the request number and the approval happens in the Nafath app.[1] The second route needs no app: the user enters their ID number and Absher password, then a one-time code sent to the mobile number of their Absher account.[1]

User Your platform Nafath
1Enters ID number
2Sign-in request
3Shows request number

The request appears in the Nafath app

4Accepts, matches, enters PIN
5Request outcome
6Signed in

Simplified. Steps 1, 3 and 4 come from the user guide; the server interface behind steps 2 and 5 is not published.[1]

Each error the guide lists is a state your sign-in page has to handle.

SituationWhat the guide says[1]What to build
Request timeoutThe user must accept within 60 seconds of submitting, then start a new request from the serviceA visible countdown and a "try again" button
Wrong number pickedAn error appears; the user must go back to the service and submit a new requestA clear instruction to compare the numbers first
Wrong PINThe user re-enters the six-digit code created in the appNothing on your side: the PIN never reaches you
Wrong passwordThe username is the National ID or Iqama number; the password is reset through AbsherA link to the other login route

Watch out

The published guide shows a PIN step. The central bank circular refers to Nafath's biometric authentication, which the guide does not show.[1][3] Confirm the current screens with the operator before you write help text.

What a business receives

Neither SDAIA's user guide nor the central bank circular lists the attributes a connected platform gets back.[1][3] Compare the published lists in the UAE PASS integration and Singpass and Myinfo guides.

ItemWhat the official sources sayStatus on 5 October 2026
IdentifierThe user signs in with a National ID number or an Iqama number[1]Documented
Request outcomeA request is accepted, rejected or expires after 60 seconds[1]Documented
Name, date of birth, address, portraitNot listed in the sources reviewedNot published
Identifier formatNot specified in the sources reviewedNot published

Plan for the narrow case: a confirmed sign-in tied to an ID number. If onboarding needs a date of birth, an address or a face image, collect it in a second step.

Legal standing and anti-money laundering rules in Saudi Arabia

The clearest legal anchor is in financial services. On 26 November 2022 the Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) issued circular No. 44037856, "Biometric Authentication for Remote Customer Relationship Initiation/Establishment", in force.[3] It builds on SAMA's earlier instructions to identify and verify individual customers with "documents, data, or information from a reliable and independent source" when a relationship starts remotely.[3]

Circular No. 44037856Saudi Central Bank, 26 November 2022

"financial institutions are required to adopt this feature when initiating/establishing a relationship "remotely",with a high level of verification or above."

Source: SAMA Rulebook[3]

"This feature" is the biometric authentication added to "the verification mechanism for users of the (Nafath) application".[3] So for a firm SAMA supervises, biometric authentication at that level is required for anti-money laundering (AML) customer due diligence at remote onboarding, and the circular ties it to the Nafath application.[3]

PointWhat the circular says[3]
Who it bindsFinancial institutions under SAMA's supervision
What is requiredBiometric authentication "with a high level of verification or above", a feature the circular ties to the Nafath application
How to connectComplete integration "with the approved service provider"
DeadlineBefore 31 January 2023
If ignoredSAMA "will take regulatory actions in case of non-compliance"

Two limits apply. The circular text we read covers how identity is authenticated, and nothing in it states that a Nafath sign-in completes customer due diligence, so treat risk assessment, screening and monitoring as separate duties. The sources reviewed also do not cover the law that founded Nafath or Saudi data protection rules, so confirm retention and data location with local counsel.

How to connect: Nafath integration for private companies

Private companies may use Nafath. The user guide speaks of "public and private sector platforms", and SDAIA describes the system as verifying the identities of beneficiaries of "both government and private digital services".[1][2] India, by contrast, licenses access by category, as the Aadhaar eKYC guide explains.

On 5 October 2026 the official sources reviewed give no public developer portal, contract template, integration fee, per-sign-in fee, certification scheme or onboarding lead time. A business has three practical routes.

Route 1

Onboard with the operator

  • SDAIA develops and operates Nafath[2]
  • Connected platforms appear to users as integrated service providers[1]
  • Requirements, contract and fees are not published

Ask SDAIA directly

Route 2

Approved service provider

  • The route SAMA names for financial institutions[3]
  • The circular does not list the approved providers
  • Prices and lead times are not published

SAMA circular No. 44037856

Route 3

Document route

  • Needs no agreement with the scheme
  • Chip reading, liveness and face match
  • Does not replace the biometric authentication SAMA requires[3]

Works for every user

Use cases and sector rules

The sources document one sector rule that names Nafath: the central bank's.

Use caseWhat is documented
Know your customer (KYC) and AML onboarding in financeBiometric authentication is required for remote onboarding by SAMA-supervised institutions[3]
Sign-in to private digital servicesIn scope: more than 530 government and private platforms were connected in November 2024[2]
Age checksNo published attribute list, so a date of birth cannot be assumed
Telecom onboardingNo sector rule in the sources reviewed
Electronic signingThe user guide covers sign-in only[1]

The sources neither list a date of birth nor rule it out. Until the operator confirms it, take it from an identity document.

Limits and fallbacks

Nafath's login names two identifiers: the National ID number and the Iqama number.[1] Residents who hold an Iqama number are therefore covered alongside citizens. Anyone with neither has no documented way in. The sources state no minimum age.

The app route also depends on the moment: the user has 60 seconds to accept, and a wrong number ends the attempt.[1] The sources reviewed mention no outages or security incidents, but offer a second route anyway.

That is the document route: the user photographs an identity document, the chip is read over near-field communication (NFC) where the document has one, and a liveness check and face match tie the document to the person holding it.

1Offer Nafath first

Ask for the National ID or Iqama number.

The user holds a Saudi ID number and can approve in time

Yes

Nafath sign-in

Number match and PIN in the app.

No

Document route

Chip reading, liveness and face match.

2Screen and decide

The onboarding decision stays with you.

eID first, document as the fallback. A SAMA-supervised firm must still meet the circular for remote onboarding.[3]

Nafath integration checklist

  • Confirm whether SAMA supervises you; if so, the circular applies to remote onboarding.[3]
  • Ask SDAIA or the approved service provider for the onboarding requirements in writing.
  • Request the attribute list and the identifier format before you design your database.
  • Request the fee schedule, the contract terms and a test environment.
  • Build both login routes the guide documents: the app and the password with a one-time code.[1]
  • Show the request number clearly and add a 60-second countdown.[1]
  • Handle rejected, expired and mismatched requests with a new request.[1]
  • Add a document route for users without a National ID or Iqama number.

How Didit helps with eID verification in Saudi Arabia

Didit adds Nafath on request. For users in Saudi Arabia today, Didit verifies people with the document route: ID verification with NFC chip reading, liveness and face match, plus AML screening against 1,300+ sanctions, PEP and watchlists, in one workflow. A full KYC check costs $0.33 and AML screening $0.20.

The national eIDs Didit runs today are listed under digital ID wallets and in the documentation.

Didit provides

  • Document checks with NFC chip reading, liveness and face match
  • AML screening against sanctions, PEP and watchlists
  • The evidence of every check

Stays with you

  • Meeting the SAMA circular where it binds you
  • The risk assessment and the policies
  • The onboarding decision

Bring Nafath to your sign-up

Tell us how your users in Saudi Arabia sign in, and start with the document route today.

Talk to us about NafathStart free

Key takeaways

  • Nafath is Saudi Arabia's unified national access system, with more than 23.5 million users in November 2024.
  • Per SDAIA's user guide, the user enters an ID number, picks the matching request number in the app and enters a PIN within 60 seconds.
  • SAMA requires biometric authentication "with a high level of verification or above" when the institutions it supervises open relationships remotely.
  • Private platforms can connect, but fees, attributes and lead times are not published, so keep a document route.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Nafath integration cost?

No price is published. None of the official sources reviewed on 5 October 2026 states an integration fee or a per-sign-in fee.[1][3]

Can a private company integrate Nafath?

Yes. SDAIA's user guide describes Nafath as a sign-on to "public and private sector platforms", and more than 530 government and private platforms were connected in November 2024.[1][2]

What data does Nafath return to a business?

The official sources do not publish an attribute list. They show that the sign-in is tied to a National ID or Iqama number and that a request is accepted, rejected or timed out.[1]

What is the difference between Nafath and Absher?

Nafath is the unified national access system that SDAIA operates for signing in to other services. Absher is the Ministry of Interior's own services platform. Nafath's password login uses the Absher account password.[1][2][4]

Is Nafath mandatory for remote bank onboarding?

Yes, for institutions SAMA supervises. Circular No. 44037856 requires biometric authentication "with a high level of verification or above" when a relationship starts remotely, and ties that feature to the Nafath application. Integration was due before 31 January 2023.[3]

Can foreign residents with an Iqama use Nafath?

Yes. The login accepts a National ID number or an Iqama number as the username. People who hold neither have no documented route and need a document check instead.[1]

Can minors use Nafath?

The official sources reviewed do not state a minimum age. Do not rely on Nafath as an age check until the operator confirms who can hold an account and whether a date of birth is returned.

What level of assurance does Nafath have?

Nafath has no eIDAS level of assurance, because it is a Saudi scheme and is not notified in the EU. The Saudi Central Bank uses its own wording: "a high level of verification or above". Firms SAMA supervises work to that circular; others should ask the operator what level a sign-in asserts.[3]

How long does a Nafath integration take?

No onboarding lead time is published. The only timing in the official material is on the user side: a request must be accepted within 60 seconds.[1]

Is there a Nafath test environment?

The public sources do not describe a sandbox or test accounts: the user guide covers the user's screens and the circular covers financial institutions. Ask the operator or the approved service provider for one during onboarding. Until then, build the timeout, rejected-request and wrong-number states the guide documents.[1][3]

Sources

  1. Nafath Platform User Guide, Saudi Data and AI Authority (SDAIA), read 6 October 2026.
  2. SDAIA Official: Unified National Access Contributes to Unprecedented Digital Transformation in the Kingdom, Saudi Press Agency, 28 November 2024.
  3. Biometric Authentication for Remote Customer Relationship Initiation/Establishment, circular No. 44037856, Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) Rulebook, 26 November 2022, in force.
  4. Absher, Ministry of Interior, read 6 October 2026.

Compare every national eID on the eID verification page, start with what eID verification is, and see how the European model differs on the EUDI Wallet page.

One workflow for users in Saudi Arabia and everywhere else

Verify documents with chip reading and liveness today, and add national eIDs as you need them.

Talk to us about NafathStart free

Infrastructure for identity and fraud.

One API for KYC, KYB, Transaction Monitoring, and Wallet Screening. Integrate in 5 minutes.

Ask an AI to summarise this page